The Bahamas, Republic of India sign visa waiver agreement

The Bahamas, Republic of India sign visa waiver agreement
Pictured are Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Hon. Darren Henfield, right, and His Excellency Mude Sevala Naik, left. (BIS Photos:Derek Smith)

NASSAU, BAHAMAS – A visa waiver agreement between The Bahamas and the Republic of India for holders of their diplomatic and official passports was signed on Thursday.

This arrangement allows for Bahamian and Indian officials to enter the territory of the other party without the need of a visa.

This agreement facilitates the travel required in the growing talks between the two Commonwealth States, which established bilateral diplomatic relations in 1975.

Following Thursday’s signing ceremony, Minister of Foreign Affairs Darren Henfield  and Indian High Commissioner to The Bahamas, His Excellency Mude Sevala Naik, took the opportunity to discuss matters of mutual interest, including the progress made with respect to the implementation of the Visa Facilitation arrangement that allows Indian nationals in possession of a Canadian, Schengen, UK or US visa to enter and visit The Bahamas without the need for a visa.

Other matters addressed were technical assistance and membership in international bodies.