OAS Scholarship pays courtesy call on Minister of Education

OAS Scholarship pays courtesy call on Minister of Education
Ramona Davis-Wells, pictured with Education Minister Jeffrey L. Lloyd during a courtesy call at the Ministry of Education, University Blvd.

NASSAU, BAHAMAS —  Ramona Davis-Wells, a Technology Studies teacher at the C.H. Reeves Junior High School and recipient of an Organization of American States scholarship, paid a courtesy call on the Minister of Education, the Hon. Jeffrey L. Lloyd.  Mrs. Wells is preparing to pursue a Master’s Degree in Public Policy with specialization in Educational Technology at the KDI School of Public Policy and Management in the Republic of South Korea.

The outstanding educator has already compiled an  impressive portfolio in education in her short career. In addition to her performance as a classroom teacher of Computer Applications, Entrepreneurship and Keyboarding, Mrs. Davis-Wells provided technology support in the form of maintenance, repairs and professional development at her school in general.  She was also the first-runner up in the National Teacher of the Year 2015 – 2017 and served on the Youth Committee for the 19CCEM. 

Following the courtesy call Ramona remarked, “I am so thankful to the Government of The Bahamas and the OAS for providing me with this opportunity to enhance my educational portfolio. I look forward to returning home, where I can impart what I have learned and continue to contribute to the national development of the country through public policy initiatives and high level management techniques.”

The scholarship opportunity emerged out of the 9th Inter American Meeting of Ministers of Education which was held in The Bahamas in February, 2017, where  the Government of The Bahamas and the Organisation of American States  signed a Memorandum of Understanding intended to increase the availability of scholarships and training programmes available to Bahamians. The MoU offers full and partial scholarships to Bahamians to study in 29 academic areas and 27 technical areas identified by the Ministry of Education as priority areas. Studies can be pursued at the masters and doctoral levels at a consortium of more than forty universities in OAS Member States and Permanent Observer Countries around the world.