Moxey, Holowesko lead new BPL board



The government appointed a new board of directors for Bahamas Power and Light (BPL) on Friday, following weeks of internal turmoil among executives.

Three days after board members were asked by Prime Minister Dr. Hubert Minnis to resign, a new six-member board was appointed.

The board is now led Dr. Donovan Moxey who replaces the former chair, Darnell Osbourne.

Stephen Holowesko will serve as deputy chairman.

Oher members include James Moss, Debra Wood, Viana Gardiner and Ferron Bethell. Bethel is the only board member to have served on the previous board.

President of the Bahamas Electrical Workers Union Paul Maynard spoke with Eyewitness News and said he hopes the company can be stabilised once and for all with the new board.

He noted, however, that despite the new board being appointed, he has to look out for the best interest of his members.

Maynard said that while he has no issue with a clean slate of board members, he hopes that they will do more to bring assistance to consumers they serve.

Issues impacting the previous board were highlighted following concerns expressed by the Bahamas Chamber of Commerce and Employers Confederation (BCCEC) in the request for proposal process for a new power plant at Clifton Pier.

Works Minister Desmond Bannister later admitted that the previous board members had locked heads at every critical issue the company was faced with.

While the appointments take immediate effect, three of the previous board members, including Osbourne, never tendered their resignation. It is expected that those who did not resign officially will receive letters of dismissal.