Knights win 2019 GSSSA Track and Field Championships

NASSAU, BAHAMAS – The C.R. Walker Knights emerged as champions of the senior portion of the 2019 Government Secondary Schools Sports Association (GSSSA) on Friday at the Thomas A. Robinson National Stadium.

The Knights finished the three-day event with 654.50 total points. C.I. Gibson was second with 550, C.V. Bethel had 391.50, followed by R.M. Bailey (339.50), Doris Johnson (338.50), C.C. Sweeting (186), Government High (156.50) and Anatol Rodgers (88.50).

On the track, Jean Allen, from Doris Johnson, won the under-20 (u20) boys 100-meter (m) dash in 11.71 seconds, and Wanya McCoy, from Doris Johnson took the u17 boys event in 11.57 seconds.

Maya-Angela Miller, from C.V. Bethel, took the u20 girls 400 in 1:00.02, James Augustine, from Doris Johnson, won the u20 boys 400 in 50.24 seconds, Sierra Higgs, from C.R. Walker, won the u17 girls event in 1:01.07 and her teammate Wendell Miller took the u17 boys 400 in 53.49 seconds.