Bahamas Aquatic Federation names 2019 CARIFTA Swimming Team

Bahamas Aquatic Federation names 2019 CARIFTA Swimming Team

The Bahamas Aquatic Federation hosted its annual CARIFTA Trials on Saturday and named the team travelling to Barbados yesterday.

The Bahamas looks to pick up its third consecutive CARIFTA title when the event kicks off on April 12.

The boys team will be led by Florida State University sophomore Izaak Bastian, who closed out the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) Championships with a national record swim in the 100-yard breaststroke. Several other past CARIFTA medalists make up the team as well, including Lamar Taylor, DaVante Carey and Nigel Forbes.

The girls squad will be led by CARIFTA standout Zayle-Elizabeth Thompson and veteran team members Katherine Slatter and Virginia Stamp.

Last year, The Bahamas won CARIFTA with a total of 789 points and a grand total of 56 medals, inclusive of 26 gold, 22 silver and 11 bronze.

The 2019 Bahamas CARIFTA swim team is listed below.

Girls: Rhanishka Gibbs, Leylah Knowles, Seannia Norville-Smith, Mia Patton, Giann Sands, Devin Cuffy-Bethel, Grace Farrington, Salene Gibson, Rachel Lundy, Delaney Mizzell, Keianna Moss, Zayle-Elizabeth Thompson, Katelyn Cabral, Jamilah Hepburn, Anya Macphail, Katherine Slatter and Virginia Stamp.

Boys: Amauri Bonamy, Tristin Ferguson, Asher Johnson, Marvin Johnson, Ethan Pinder, Nigel Forbes, Taye Fountain, Jared Reckley, Ishan Roy, Ocean Smith, Erald Thompson III, Izaak Bastian, DaVante Carey, Kevin Lockhart, Ian Pinder, Lamar Taylor, Kuke-Kennedy Thompson and Mark-Anthony Thompson.